Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

November 22, 2024

Honorable Chuck Schumer Majority Leader S-309, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader S-230, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Patty Murray Chair Senate Appropriations Committee S-128, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Susan Collins Vice Chair Senate Appropriations Committee 413 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker H-232, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader H-204, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman House Appropriations Committee H-405, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member House Appropriations Committee 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Colleague:

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Speaker Johnson, Minority Leader Jefferies, Chair Murray, Vice Chair Collins, Chairman Cole, and Ranking Member DeLauro:

On behalf of our constituents in Florida, we write to urge you to immediately take up President Biden's disaster supplemental funding request. Florida has recently been hard hit by Hurricanes Debby, Helene, and Milton and related tornados, causing loss of lives, property, and livelihoods.

Specifically, we urge you to swiftly pass the following funding requested by President Biden, which will assist Florida and other states to recover and rebuild from natural disasters:

- \$40 billion for the FEMA Disaster Relief Fund;
- \$24 billion for the Department of Agriculture to help farmers who experienced loss of crops or livestock, bolster food and nutrition programs, and support debris removal;
- \$12 billion for the Department of Housing and Urban Development block grant disaster recovery program;
- \$8 billion for the Department of Transportation to repair roads and bridges;
- \$4 billion for the Environmental Protection Agency to upgrade water systems;
- \$3 billion for the Department of Health and Human Services to provide health care and other support in disaster-hit areas;
- \$2 billion for the Department of Commerce for economic development assistance and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Hurricane Hunters;

- \$2 billion for the SBA disaster loan program;
- \$1 billion for the Department of Education for aid to schools impacted by disasters;
- \$1 billion for the Department of Energy to upgrade electrical grids; and
- \$1.4 billion for other agency needs to respond to other disaster needs.

We appreciate the federal government's strong response to these disasters. With that said, Congress must provide this urgently needed funding to continue to help communities recover and rebuild without delay.

Already, FEMA's Disaster Relief Fund (DRF) is facing a shortfall this fiscal year, which impacts the agency's ability to provide life-saving assistance to disaster survivors and slows long-term recovery efforts. We must also replenish SBA's disaster loan program, which ran out of funding last month. SBA loans provide crucial support to local businesses and individual survivors to repair and rebuild their homes and other damaged property. SBA has already received over 100,000 loan applications for Hurricanes Helene and Milton. The President's supplemental funding request would ensure that FEMA and SBA can continue to help our communities while also providing funding to agencies across the federal government to ensure we can help families and small businesses get back on their feet and build a more resilient infrastructure to better withstand future disasters.

We urge immediate action on this critical funding for Florida and states across the nation and ask that you engage with the Florida delegation to assess additional needs.

Sincerely,

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schult

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Jared Moslowitz Member of Congress

Manuell Frant

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress