Press Releases

Palm Beach and Broward Counties Added to FEMA Individual Assistance

Announcement comes after South Florida Congressional Delegation advocated to White House and FEMA

f t # e
Washington, September 12, 2017 | comments
WASHINGTON, DC – As South Florida begins the long process of rebuilding after Hurricane Irma, Reps. Lois Frankel (FL-21), Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Ted Deutch (FL-22), Frederica Wilson (FL-24), and Brian Mast (FL-18), Members of Congress representing South Florida, are pleased the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) added Palm Beach and Broward counties to the list of counties eligible for Individual Assistance.

While President Trump’s September 10 Major Disaster Declaration included all 67 Florida counties on the list for Public Assistance, only nine counties were eligible for federal assistance to individuals and households. FEMA’s new declaration comes after the Members of Congress sent a letter to the White House and urged FEMA these counties be included for Individual Assistance. Still missing from the list of eligible counties are Martin and St. Lucie Counties. 

The Members of Congress issued this statement:

“Families in Palm Beach and Broward counties can now get help to rebuild their homes and properties. With access to FEMA’s Individual Assistance program, residents can apply today and start addressing their needs immediately.”

Palm Beach and Broward County residents are encouraged to see what benefits are applicable to them and apply at


f t # e