Summary of New Federally-Funded Unemployment Benefits
Congress created three new unemployment support programs that are 100% paid for by the federal government to help the millions of Americans losing their jobs through no fault of their own. Florida signed an agreement with the Department of Labor on March 28 to access federal funds to help administer these:
1. Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) for anyone laid off or furloughed due to the pandemic.
- Provides $600/week for up to 16 weeks from the date you applied (retroactive to March 29) to anyone receiving the Florida state Reemployment Assistance.
2. Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) for anyone receiving Florida state unemployment benefits.
- Provides 13 more weeks of state benefits fully funded by the federal government.
3. Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) for workers who are otherwise ineligible for state unemployment benefits including self-employed or independent contractors, workers without sufficient work history, and workers who run out of unemployment benefits.
- Provides up to 39 weeks of benefits at the state maximum $275/week from the date you applied (retroactive to January 27) as well as $600/week for up to 16 weeks.
Summary of Benefits to Florida Workers
Benefits for Most Workers: Employees who are laid off or furloughed through no fault of their own due to the COVID-19 pandemic are eligible for:
- Up to $275/week for 12 weeks of state-benefits effective from the date you apply (retroactive to March 9);
- 13 additional weeks of federally-funded PEUC benefits at the state rate after state benefits run out; and
- $600/week of federally-funded FPUC benefits for up to 16 weeks from the date you apply (retroactive to March 29) until July 31.
- Florida law also requires an additional 13 weeks of state-funded benefits if unemployment rises above 10.5% and the unemployment rate is sustained at 10.5% for three consecutive months.
Benefits for Workers with Reduced Hours:Workers whose hours have been reduced by employers may be eligible for partial unemployment if their hours have been significantly reduced and they are making less than $333 per week. Workers whose hours have been reduced may also be eligible for Florida’s Short-Time Compensation (STC) program if the employer has entered into an agreement with the state. Under the STC program employers continue providing workers with benefits like healthcare and they are eligible for:
- Up to 26 weeks of pro-rated state-level benefits that are federally funded from the date of application (minimum $125 and maximum $275/week);
- 13 additional weeks of federally-funded PEUC benefits at the state rate when state benefits run out; and
- $600/week of federally-funded FPUC benefits for up to 16 weeks from the date you apply (retroactive to March 29 and running through July 31).
* Unfortunately, most underemployed individuals are not receiving these benefits. If you are making more than $333 a week, you are not currently eligible for partial unemployment benefits.
Benefits for Workers Otherwise Ineligible for State Benefits: Self-employed workers like independent contractors, freelancers and part-time workers (often called ‘gig workers’), workers who don't have a long-enough work history to qualify for state benefits, or workers who otherwise wouldn't qualify for benefits under state or federal law, are eligible for:
- Up to $275/week for 39 weeks of federally-funded PUA benefits effective from the date you applied, with eligibility extending from January 27 through December 31; and
- $600/week of federally-funded PUA benefits for up to 16 weeks (retroactive to March 29 and running through July 31).
How do I submit my application for Reemployment Assistance?
There are multiple ways to submit an application for Florida Reemployment Assistance. The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity also created a Resource Guide and Q&A to help answer any questions applicants might have on the unemployment benefits process.
1. New applicants can complete an application online at FloridaJobs.org/RAApplication.
2. There is also a new mobile-friendly application.
3. Complete a paper application by following the steps online at FloridaJobs.org/COVID-19. Then mail your application to: Florida Department of Economic Opportunity
P.O. Box 5350, Tallahassee, FL 32314-5350
4. CareerSource centers throughout the state can offer assistance with paper applications. Please visit careersourceflorida.com to find website and contact information for your local career center. We recommend calling to confirm the hours of operation.
5. FedEx is also offering Floridians the option to print and mail applications in storefronts located throughout the state free of charge. Please visit FedEx.com for a location near you. You can also complete an application online at FloridaJobs.org/COVID-19.
* If you have questions or need assistance completing your application online, you can contact DEO at 800-204-2418 for assistance. (Hours: Monday-Friday, 7:30am-6:30pm and Saturday-Sunday, 8:00am-2:00pm).